Our organisation

The Defence Science Institute (DSI) was established in 2010 within the University of Melbourne. It is funded jointly by the State Government of Victoria, the Commonwealth Government’s Defence Science and Technology (DST) Group and our university members.

DSI is staffed by a team of senior multi-disciplinary professionals from industry, government and academic backgrounds. We have the insight and experience to bridge different priorities and points of view towards common goals and successes.

Our mandate is to coordinate the greatest public good outcomes by bringing together the right collaborators within the dynamic and ever-evolving Australian defence market. Our team achieves this through building trusting relationships and demonstrating understanding, insight and empathy.


Prof Adrian Pearce
Prof Adrian PearceDirector
Dr Claire Davis
Dr Claire DavisAssociate Director
Craig Butler
Craig ButlerIndustry Engagement
Charlotte Morris
Charlotte MorrisGovernment Engagement
Annette McLeod
Annette McLeodContracts & Business Analysis
Ansonne Yap
Ansonne YapAdministrator


Mr John O’Callaghan (Chair)
Mr John O’Callaghan (Chair)Victoria Defence Industry Advocate, State Government of Victoria
Dr. Jim Taylor
Dr. Jim TaylorProgram Leader Science and Technology Coordination, Defence Science and Technology Group
Professor Mark Hargreaves
Professor Mark HargreavesPro Vice-Chancellor (Research Collaboration & Partnerships), The University of Melbourne
Ms Laura Anderson

Ms Laura Anderson Chairman, SVI Global Pty Ltd.
Mr Miles Partridge
Mr Miles PartridgeDirector of Engineering, Tectonica Australia Pty Ltd.
Mr Glenn Logan
Mr Glenn LoganDirector Technology and Product Development, BAE Systems Australia
Dr Tony Lindsay
Dr Tony LindsayDirector of Lockheed Martin STELaRLab, Lockheed Martin Australia
Mr Unni Menon
Mr Unni MenonActing Executive Director, Capture Teams Jobs, Innovation and Business Engagement Department of Jobs, Precincts and Regions


Dr Zoran Najdovski
Dr Zoran NajdovskiAssociate Professor, Deakin University
Dr John Besida
Dr John BesidaResearch Partnerships, Research and Innovation, RMIT University
Ms Rosy Calabro
Ms Rosy CalabroCentre Coordinator, Sir Lawrence Wackett Centre rosy.calabro@rmit.edu.au
A/Prof Daniel Lai
A/Prof Daniel LaiAssociate Professor in Electrical and Electronics EngineeringVU.defence@vu.edu.au
A/Prof Peter Moar
A/Prof Peter MoarAcademic Research Coordinator (Research and Industry Engagement), College of Science Health and Engineering, La Trobe Universitydefence@latrobe.edu.au
Mr James Davern
Mr James DavernBusiness Development Manager, Digital Innovation, Defence and Space, Swinburne University of Technology
Ms Zara Hamon
Ms Zara HamonPartnerships and Development Manager, Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice President (Enterprise), Monash University
A/Prof Shona Halson
A/Prof Shona HalsonAssociate Professor in the School of Behavioural and Health Sciences, Deputy Director of SPRINT, Australian Catholic University
Ms Fiona Broussard
Ms Fiona BroussardSenior Business Development Manager, Faculty of Science, Monash University fiona.broussard@monash. edu
 A/ Professor Sean Müller
A/ Professor Sean Müller Associate Professor of Sport and Exercise Science | School of Science, Psychology and Sport
Prof Len Sciacca
Prof Len SciaccaEnterprise Professor, Defence Technologies, University of Melbourne defence-technologies@unimelb. edu.au
Ms Emily Ebbott
Ms Emily EbbottProgram Manager, Partnerships, Melbourne Defence Enterprise, University of Melbourne defence-technologoes@unimelb. edu.au
Prof Jonathan Binns
Prof Jonathan BinnsAcademic Lead – Defence Network. Director, ARC Research Training Centre for Naval Design and Manufacturing, University of Tasmania
Mr Aaron Ingram
Mr Aaron IngramDefence Maritime Program Manager, Australian Maritime College, College of Sciences and Engineering, University of Tasmania aaron.ingram@utas.edu.au